RSS Feed

In which I get a sweater

It’s not just bikes wearing sweaters around here. Fall comes late to Greenville, NC, but we got an early taste of it during an unseasonably cool weekend. It was perfect weather for taking pictures of my newly-finished Cobblestone Pullover:

This pattern is for a man’s sweater, but I downsized it and added some waist shaping so it would fit me. It’s an extremely soft yarn, Madelinetosh Tosh Merino, from my favorite online yarn shop, Eat Sleep Knit. The yarn is likely going to pill like crazy, but I expect this sweater to keep me warm and cozy all winter.  Too bad the temps are already back in the 80s.

One reason I’m really happy with this sweater is that I started it close to two years ago — and I finally picked it up and finished it!  I’m a distractable knitter.  This year I made a BIG resolution: I am not buying any yarn or spinning fiber in 2011.  I have kept it up so far, and not buying has gotten easier as the year progresses. Not having yarn coming in has helped me to focus on older projects, like this sweater. It has also helped me to see the possibilities in my enormous yarn and fiber stash rather than always wanting the newest, shiniest thing. Even when this year is over, I think my shopping habits will be permanently changed.

More details of my sweater are on Ravelry.

Here’s a bike plus sweater bonus pic: girl in a sweater fitting a bike with a sweater!

One response »

  1. Congrats on your bouncing blog baby! I love the meta picture of a girl in a sweater putting a bike in a sweater. Can you also have the bike putting a sweater on something? That would be really neat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

